Postcards from Eastern Europe – Sarajevo

Reporting from the land of chocolates, pastries and schnitzels. Yep I’m currently in Vienna.

How ironic that I just left Sarajevo days ago and I see on CNN a day or two later that it’s the 20th anniversary of the Siege of Sarajevo, the longest siege in modern history. As I watch the CNN segment, I recognize the areas they speak of since I was in many of those locations. It just gives me chills thinking about my connection.

Today it still seems to be digging out of its war torn phase. Pot marked/war scarred buildings still abound but the American invasion of McDonalds and Coco-Cola is well underway. There’s even a relatively new shopping mall in downtown area. I saw people relaxing and chain smoking (cough!) in its many cafes and restaurants.

Click on images to enlarge. If you missed my previous Eastern Europe entries, click the home page above or click on any of the recent posts to the right.

I took the train from Mostar to Sarajevo. It’s supposed to be one of the most scenic train routes in Europe.

Yes this is a real train station not some movie set from the 40’s.

War ravaged buildings in Sarajevo vs Coca Cola.

Remember the 1984 winter Olympics? This olympic stadium has seen better days. I stayed at a guest house next door.

Fortunately I checked in my firearm before I entered town.

Old and new. There’s quite a bit of modern boutiques and cafes.

They have modern first run American movies (dubbed I’m sure.) I never did see the original Amerika Pita.

Leave a Reply

